Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

  1. Home
  2. Bookstore
  3. Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

By Benjamin M. Korstvedt

Rent or Buy eTextbook

Expires on May 8th, 2022

Publisher List Price: $0.00

Anton Bruckner's Eighth Symphony (1890), one of the last of the great Romantic symphonies, is a grandly complex masterpiece. Its critical reception has been fascinatingly contentious. Its music, at once extensive and distilled, directly confronts the problem of the symphony after Beethoven and after Wagner. This book explores this many-faceted work from several angles. It documents the complicated and often misunderstood history of the symphony's composition and revision and offers an accessible guide to its musical design. It demonstrates, by means of a study of well-known recordings, how performance styles have evolved in this century. It also revisits the conventional wisdom about the various versions and editions of the symphony and comes to some provocative new conclusions.

Subject: Humanities -> Music -> General

Bruckner: Symphony No. 8
1st edition
Publisher: Cambridge University Press 3/30/00
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Language: English

ISBN 10: 0511035888
ISBN 13: 9780511035883
Print ISBN: 9780521632263

Live Chats