Mozart: The 'Haydn' Quartets

  1. Home
  2. Bookstore
  3. Mozart: The 'Haydn' Quartets

Mozart: The 'Haydn' Quartets

By John Irving

Rent or Buy eTextbook

Expires on Apr 16th, 2022

Publisher List Price: $0.00

The six string quartets dedicated to his friend Joseph Haydn represent a turning point in Mozart's compositional development. In addition to providing a full synopsis of each quartet this book examines the music in relation to Mozart's earlier quartets, considers the genesis of the six 'Haydn' quartets through close examination of the autograph revisions and looks at contemporary eighteenth-century analytical models. John Irving also charts the reception of the quartets, drawing upon a broad range of sources: Mozart's letters and diary entries, early newspaper reports, harmony/compositional textbooks, contemporary criticism and early biographies.

Subject: Humanities -> Music -> General

Mozart: The 'Haydn' Quartets
1st edition
Publisher: Cambridge University Press 1/8/98
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Language: English

ISBN 10: 0511823746
ISBN 13: 9780511823749
Print ISBN: 9780521584753

Live Chats