The Cambridge Companion to Brahms

  1. Home
  2. Bookstore
  3. The Cambridge Companion to Brahms

The Cambridge Companion to Brahms

By Michael Musgrave

Rent or Buy eTextbook

Expires on Feb 25th, 2022

Publisher List Price: $0.00

This Companion gives a comprehensive view of the German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–97). Twelve specially-commissioned chapters by leading scholars and musicians provide systematic coverage of the composer's life and works. Their essays represent recent research and reflect changing attitudes towards a composer whose public image has long been out-of-date. The first part of the book contains three chapters on Brahms's early life in Hamburg and on the middle and later years in Vienna. The central section considers the musical works in all genres, while the last part of the book offers personal accounts and responses from a conductor (Roger Norrington), a composer (Hugh Wood), and an editor of Brahms's original manuscripts (Robert Pascall). The volume as a whole is an important addition to Brahms scholarship and provides indispensable information for all students and enthusiasts of Brahms's music.

Subject: Humanities -> Music -> General

The Cambridge Companion to Brahms
1st edition
Publisher: Cambridge University Press 5/27/99
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Language: English

ISBN 10: 1139815458
ISBN 13: 9781139815451
Print ISBN: 9780521485814

Live Chats