This material may consist of step-by-step explanations on how to solve a problem or examples of proper writing, including the use of citations, references, bibliographies, and formatting. This material is made available for the sole purpose of studying and learning - misuse is strictly forbidden.
Because the old plant is sunk, the optimal quantity output if the firm continue to use the old plant is when the marginal cost equals the marginal revenue which is a price under a perfectly competitive market. It follows that the firm will choose to produce Q=6 and make a total revenue of 6 × 32 = $192 and it costs $338 to produce Q=6 and makes -$146 profit. Although the firm makes a negative profit, it still covers the part of the fixed cost...
This is only a preview of the solution. Please use the purchase button to see the entire solution